New guy here

Db1060

Non-member
hello everybody my name is dan im new to the saltwater hobby. Im in the proccess of purchasing my first saltwater tank. Mainly wanna do fish only right now, this is the setup im gonna go with whats everyones thought on this beginner budget build.

75gallon tank
Fluval 306
AQ led light fixture "48 " the one you can add bulbs to"
At heater 250watt. With a guard
Live rock
Dry rock

Thank you for your time
-dan

For what you spend on the canister filter you can build a sump for 1/4 or less the price. I have a canister filter my school bought and you have to be good on changing the media and there is more and more costs associated with that with filter pad replacements etc. I would have a back up heater in there set a few degrees below the first so 1 if there is a failure your fish won't get too cold, 2 if your water change water is not as warm as the tank water (which it rarely is) both heaters jump into action heating the water more quickly.

Welcome to the hobby, you say fish only but once you start seeing all these sweet reef tanks you might change your mind. In that case I would say go with a stronger light to save you a purchase in the future [emoji6]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome and angel is right, if you have the slightest thought of ever converting to a reef get as much as you can as a reef setup now to save later.

I dont have the money for a protein skimmer can anyone give me a link to a 75g or bigger one for a reasonable price? And do really have to run a protein skimmer in a sump? Sorry for so many questions

There was one on here for free a couple of days ago

For fowlr you don't need a skimmer but will help with cleaning up the fish poop. There's hang on back ( HOB ) skimmers that you can use instead of needing a sump but you're limited to how big you can go. People do keep sumpless reefs but it's not too common. Ask as many questions as needed. We all have and still do