Seneye

CndReefs

Non-member
Does anyone have any experience with the Seneye monitor?
How accurate do you think the ph readings are?
The representative told me it works off of colorimetrics and is more precise than the standard probes.
Anyone use colorimetric ph unit?
The variance between the Seneye and my apex is pretty big I’d say.
Seneye 8.0 - 8.3
Apex 7.56 - 8.01
I’m stumped on what to believe.
Any help would be appreciated thanks

I have no experience with it, but how old is your Apex PH probe? That may be the culprit to your variance in readings.

I have the marine box checked on the Seneye.
Going to try recalibrating the apex probe one more time.

I have both Seneye and Apex. Trust the apex reading especially if recently calibrated. This is more or less a lab grade pH meter (especially if you have the lab grade probe). You could also cross-check against a new pH test kit or better yet another pH probe if you have. I have a handheld unit for this such worry.

So I just recalibrated the apex probe ( Brs lab grade probe ) and dunked it back in the 7.0 solution and got 7.16 then went back to the 10.0 and got 9.81. Somethings not right with this.

pH probe, when calibrated, is one of the most sensitive and at the same time most selective sensors there is and has an unmatched measurement of pH 0 to 14. On the other hand, colorimetric measurement can be off due to slightly discolored tank water, which is very common in reef tanks.

Try re-calibrating again. In the lab, we will re-calibrate again in the event of buffer check failure. If still off by more than +/- 0.05, try performing the manual calibration. One other factor that could be contributing (but unlikely) is your mixing in std (if you're using those foil pouches mix gently but thoroughly) or rinsing (ideally use rodi).