Tridacna clams from Petco??

JeanR

BRS Member
And yes, I know Petco has a bad reputation...but a BRS member told me he picked up a clam from his local Petco, which was surprising as I didn't think they carried them.

I visited the Needham Petco last weekend and talked with a guy named Adam. He told me that Petco can special order Tridacna clams and the prices we quoted were very cheap. They can order a 2-3" squamosa (blander colors) and derasa for $40. They can order 2" ultra blue maximas for $50. Clams take about a week to come in and they recommend same day pickup so they can give it to you right in the bag it shipped in.

Does anyone have experience with clams from Petco??? At these prices (half of LiveAquaria) it is super tempting to try...

I bought a squamosa from them 3 weeks ago.
3C0B001E-FDD8-4FDC-9D94-3B2D0B53F3AA.jpeg

It’s doing good as far as I can tell. It’s my first clam so I have no real knowledge on keeping them besides what I read online.

I've also had good luck surprisingly with the livestock ive purchased from petco.

Sounds odd, but I've even got them to price match their website to their store prices on their marine livestock. It is significantly cheaper.

I have gotten several salt water items, from coral to fish, from petco and have had no horror stories. I believe they get all their fish and coral from liveaquaria.com. if you make a request they can order it and save you the shipping cost, at least that is what I have done in the past.