Fleece roller mats?

ChrisV

BRS Member
Hi all,

I am in the process of (slowly) setting up a LPS dominated 40 cube tank. It's one of the IM fusion pro 2 all in one tanks. I will be using a Tunze 9004 skimmer for the tank.

The model I have normally includes a filter sock, and I'm considering either swapping the filter sock out for a nano sized fleece roller mat, or removing the mechanical filtration all together.

I have two concerns: 1) I'm a little concerned that I will completely zero out my nitrates with a roller mat, and 2) the tank is in our bedroom and I know that there will be ...less support... for the hobby if I make out bedroom smell like low tide.

I've never used a roller mat before. For those of you who run roller mats, what do you think? I probably wouldn't bother, but I know that frogfish do tend to produce a lot of waste.

Thoughts?