Amazing coral growth with LEDs

Would you recommended Marineland Reef Capable LED Lighting System 36” (36) 10,000K White & (6) 460 nm Blue 1W LEDs - 2610 Lumens?

I think keeping the heat down is the major issue. Thermal breakdown is the #1 thing that causes electronic parts to fail. I have four 80mm fans on my fixture on a 14.5x14.5" heatsink. I don't know if LEDs will last 50,000 hours and 11 years, the main factors are overdriving them and temperture.
I don't doubt that the screw in PAR38's are experiencing failure. They are being screwed into a fixtures that holds in the heat, it has a small heatsink and no fan.

Last edited:
Would you recommended Marineland Reef Capable LED Lighting System 36” (36) 10,000K White & (6) 460 nm Blue 1W LEDs - 2610 Lumens?

I am by no means an expert. I will share my experience and information I've gathered. I took it slow and did this build over two months and it worked out great. As far as that fixture I cannot comment. It's probably ok for softies and fish but SPS, I don't think so.

Last edited:
Hey Bob,
Thinking about switching my four strip VHO powered by two Ice Cap 660 on my 180G tank to:
1. 72" Giesemann Infiniti Light Fixture (3) 250W HQI + (4) 80W T5
2. (2) Marineland Reef Capable LED Lighting System 36” (36) 10,000K White & (6) 460 nm Blue 1W LEDs - 2610 Lumens
What will be the better choice of the two or should I stick with VHO? Any advice would be nice. Thanks

Hey Bob,
Thinking about switching my four strip VHO powered by two Ice Cap 660 on my 180G tank to:
1. 72" Giesemann Infiniti Light Fixture (3) 250W HQI + (4) 80W T5
2. (2) Marineland Reef Capable LED Lighting System 36” (36) 10,000K White & (6) 460 nm Blue 1W LEDs - 2610 Lumens
What will be the better choice of the two or should I stick with VHO? Any advice would be nice. Thanks