Dead Heads on Frogspawn, Torch, Hammer - Normal??

starrfish

Non-member
I have some very healthy Frogspawn, Torches & Hammers. But sometimes one or two of the heads will die for no apparent reason. The remaining heads appear to be healthy. Is this normal? Is it a signal that something is wrong?

Daire, I'm no expert by any means, but I have my frogspawn for more than 2 years now, and I never had a problem of dying heads so far. On the other hand, I had a torch before, when I upgraded my tank, it started to die on me. First it's only 1 head not opening, then the tissue started to come off, then not too long after that the other head started dying. I'm guessing because I put it in the high flow area, and it didn't like it.

Yeah, I've never had heads die off unless the coral was on its way out. But I have seen my anchor coral try to build a new head and fail.

Hmmmm...the corals don't die after the individual heads die. I wonder if those heads are getting too much flow. Thanks for the input. Anyone else?

Flow

I agree that these coral do not like high water flow (or even moderate water flow). I would move it to a lower flow spot in your tank and see what happens.

starrfish said:
Hmmmm...the corals don't die after the individual heads die. I wonder if those heads are getting too much flow. Thanks for the input. Anyone else?

Chuck,
I Don't know about that!!
I have a frogspawn that is sitting in the sand in front of my tank that is been hammered by the 2 tunzes 6100, and I never had a head die on me!!

Daire,
Are the heads that are failing on the underside?
I've seen this happen as these guys get big, the heads that don't get enough light to thrive die off and energy is diverted to new growth.