First our Clownfish Dies now our Royal Gramma Too

agentfive

Non-member
We have a 14 gallon biocube that's been up and running for about 4.5 months. We had a royal gramma in there first for about 2.5 months before putting in the clown.

I'm really bummed. About 3 days ago our clown starting acting weird - we only had him for 3 weeks. And then he was swimming on the bottom - undulating and then we found him dead on Friday am. Now just 1 day has passed and now our Royal Gramma is dead. It too starting acting weird - more sluggish - etc. and also not out as much. Then today he was really having a hard time breathing. Needless to say he couldn't swim on his own and was last night swimming upside down a ton.

I'm really new to the hobby - so I'm not sure - but both had lots of white on each side of them - which for the clown just was there when we found him dead - and the gramma it seemed to come on today.

I just did another good water change - and all the parameters are normal - temp at 78-79ish, PH 8.2, all other readings 0 with KH at 11. Our salinity in the tank is always at 1.023 to 1.024 and we have never had an issue.

Not sure what happened - until the Gramma died today - I thought the clown just stressed out - but now with the double death and weirdness - really confused.

All others in the tank - inverts - hermits - emerald crab, mushroom corals, candy cane coral, duncans - couldn't be happier. Plus about 2 weeks ago our tank cleared up completely - no cyano or green hair algae - it looks pristine.

Any advice would be great. Maybe it's a double fish stress out - or the like - just not sure.

ick.... did you do a water change beofore this started happening, did the fish scratch on the bottom?

The clownfish did - and before that - the gramma was doing these assaults into the bottom hitting the sand.