New to BRS! And a quick question regarding nuisance algae....

Wet Dreams

Non-member
Hello! I am new to BRS, but not necessarily the hobby. Thank you for having me!

I have a question regarding persistent nuisance algae, which formed on my live rock quite some time ago and appears to be spreading. It can be described as colonies of hundreds of small stems with bubbles on top, which are red in color.

So, does anyone have a good source for identifying this specific form of algae, its causes, and any associated remedies?

Thanks in advance for your help! And if this post belongs in another forum please let me know.

Hello and thank you for responding to this thread so quickly.

Yes, I will take a couple of pictures a little later on when the lights are on and then post them here.

I use a four-stage Coralife R/O system to generate my water for changes and top-offs. So, could that be the source of the algae? Perhaps it's not efficient enough?

Thanks again for responding and please look for the pictures a little later on.

Hello and thank you for responding to this thread so quickly.

Yes, I will take a couple of pictures a little later on when the lights are on and then post them here.

I use a four-stage Coralife R/O system to generate my water for changes and top-offs. So, could that be the source of the algae? Perhaps it's not efficient enough?

Thanks again for responding and please look for the pictures a little later on.
Welcome to the club!

A four stage RO/DI unit is typically enough filtration to produce 0TDS water, but if you are lax about changing filters or if your source water is particularly bad it may not be efficient enough. The best way to know is to measure the TDS of your source water and the output water.