Newbie Needs Help

DFort317

Non-member
Hello Everyone,

I'm very new to the hobby and learning on the fly. This site was recommended to me by another hobbyist at a local pet store, and I'm loving it. I need some help getting pointed in the right direction. I think I'm doing ok so far.

I have a 75 gallon saltwater tank that has been up and running for 1.5 weeks. There is currently about 55-60 pounds of live rock in it. I have 5 damsels as well that have been in there for 5 days or so and appear to be healthy. All my levels are perfect or near perfect (Nitrates, Ammonia, Salinity and pH).

The questions that I have are:

Is 55-60 pounds of live rock enough? I want to grow coral on it as well.

At which point is it safe to remove the damsels and start adding other fish and corals?

I need to purchase a light in order to have corals, but really can't afford anything fancy. I'm considering the T5's or a compact light. But the compacts appear to have so many options, and I don't know what I'm looking for in a light. Any suggestions? Cost is an issue, as this tank is proving to be much more costly than originally anticipated.

Thank you all in advance, the advice given will be priceless.

I would say to put at least 1 pound per gallon. Others will say up to 4 per gallon. FYI I have about 250 lbs in a 210. It also depends how heavy the rocks are. Some rocks are so porous tahat they dont weigh much.
I seaded my tank with damsels. I wish I didn't cauase they aren't easy to catch. I added my first fish at three month. Coral at six months. Longer is better but I was impatient. Haven't lost anything yet.
as far as lighting goes I've recently upgraded to metal halide all thanks to BRS.
just post a want to buy thread youll get all kinds of ideas. No waranties though.

I see, so roughly 2-3 more months of what I have, and nothing changing, before I can start adding fish?