nitrite and nitrate level i need help?

rbike1331

Non-member
i am new to salt water tanks i have had my tank running for 5 weeks and my nitrite and nitrate levels are high one pearson says to do a 20% water change and another says not to do a water change i have 40 lbs of lr in a 55 gallon what do i do:

he has a pretty good in sump skimmer couple damsels refug/sump..macro algae etc.

The first problem is not enough liverock. You should be running 1 1/2 to 2 LBS per gallon. Secondly depending on where, how, who, you required the rock from and how much your water chemistry differed from there's would determine how much die off you have. I cycled my tank with 200Lbs LR and 40Lbs store bought livesand and 40LBs of a established tanks live sand. It cycled in record time (3days) after the last addition of 100LBS of rock however I had already run it for over a month with 100LBS LR and 80LBS sand. Even after it had completed its last cycle I still added nothing for 2 weeks.

you probably are still cycling...
Mark and I say do the water change.. even with the change you will still have levels enough to stimulate the growth of the good bacteria

something that I learned in school (a medical thing, but still applies)

"The solution to polution is Dilution"... you have to dilute out the bad stuff..

good luck to you :) while you are waiting for the cycling, there is a ton to learn on this site... and there are a ton of people that will help you out in guiding you onto your next steps... when I was starting out, I loved to go to other people's houses and see their established tanks and see how they got their's to work and more importantly, what did not work.... there are lots of places that you can waist money... and you need to save what you have for what you actually do need

It is really cool to see first hand what a mature tank looks like :) lots of us in this club go around and see each other's tanks all the time :)

Good Luck!

brsanime.gif