Total newb question - refractometer

fishmommy

Non-member
Did I use this thing right? It didn't have very helpful instructions so I guessed at it.

Clean the prism and flippy thing with pure water
Put a drop of tank water on the prism
Close the flip top and smooth out any bubbles
Wait a ten count for temps to equalize
Take the reading

Did I use this thing right? It didn't have very helpful instructions so I guessed at it.

Clean the prism and flippy thing with pure water
Put a drop of tank water on the prism
Close the flip top and smooth out any bubbles
Wait a ten count for temps to equalize
Take the reading

Most will use RO/DI water to clean. There is caibration solution that usually comes with the refactometer, but most do work in the same manner.

yep, I used RO/DI to clean. The instructions said to calibrate to zero with RO/DI which I did, but I have calibration solution on the way as well.
I have no livestock yet so this is not so critical yet.
Thanks!

I always just wiped the prism/cover off on my t-shirt. :)

Otherwise I just squirted enough water on the prism to cover it, flipped the cover closed, and waited 20 seconds or so to check it (if I was patient)... normally I didn't wait much at all.

Depending on your refractometer it may need to be calibrated with RODI or a refractometer solution. The one I bought from Marine Depot said to just use RODI.

Sounds pretty accurate. I never heard about waiting 10 seconds though and by pure water I'm sure they mean RO/DI.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

The glass on these refractometers is very sensitive. I've always used microscope tissue and cleaning solution. Cost pennies and preserves the integrity of the glass.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk