Any others using ozone?

reefkeeper2

BRS Member
After I overhauled my sump, I decided to start using ozone again. I used it long ago but found it to be a real pain so the equipment has been in mothballs for years. My main problem was how to run the water that exits my skimmer over carbon to catch/remove any excess ozone and it's harmful byproducts. I always ended up dumping carbon into the sump that eventually got stuck in my pumps. Like I said a real pain. When I recently redid my sump I got the idea to use carbon pads instead of the granulated form of carbon. I took a small acrylic box, cut some holes in the bottom and fit a nice square carbon pad into it. Then I just placed the box under the skimmer outlet. Voila! easy peasy and I felt really stupid for not thinking of it before. Anyway, I have been running ozone for about 3 months now. I have my apex turn it on at 8am and off at 3pm. It will also shut it off if the ORP gets too high but I don't think that could ever happen with the small ozonizer I have. I don't bother with an air dryer and I don't care what the ORP value is.
So after three months I am still pleased with the results. First, the water is fish floating in the air clear. Second, my sps have better polyp extension. I noticed this before when I used ozone and I see it again now. I would like to know exactly why this happens. Last, I don't use any granulated carbon at all. I don't miss the expense or the mess.
So I am curious if there are any others presently using ozone. Anyone notice the same effects?