Biocube Newbie

cafishgirl

Non-member
Hi, My name is Shannon and I'm a newbie biocube owner. First saltwater tank for me. My friend "snidgetless" introduced me to the hobby, and I'm looking forward learning more as it progresses. The tank has been up and running for about 4 weeks now with one damsel (other two passed away due to pre-existing medical conditions), but the last one is doing really well so I'm optomistic. Can't wait to start adding more serious critters. I'm sure I'll be on this site a bunch asking questions and checking things out. Thanks!

Howdy Shannon, and welcome to the BRS!

Sounds like a cool cube you've go going there.
Post some pics!

Where are you from?

Hi Greg, Aquaman and Moe, thanks for the welcome! Yep, I'm originally from CA and I've been out here for about 8 years now. "Fishgirl" because I'm a shellfish biologist/program coordinator for the state fisheries office in Boston. Did some testing on the cube this morning and it looks like the tank is ready for it's first additions. Will add a few hermit crabs and another fish tomorrow. Any recommendations for a good starter? Green clown goby, firefish, canary blenny? The only fish I have so far is a very small domino damsel. Thanks again for the welcome.

WelcomeBRS.jpg

Hi Greg, Aquaman and Moe, thanks for the welcome! Yep, I'm originally from CA and I've been out here for about 8 years now. "Fishgirl" because I'm a shellfish biologist/program coordinator for the state fisheries office in Boston. Did some testing on the cube this morning and it looks like the tank is ready for it's first additions. Will add a few hermit crabs and another fish tomorrow. Any recommendations for a good starter? Green clown goby, firefish, canary blenny? The only fish I have so far is a very small domino damsel. Thanks again for the welcome.

Oooh, that domino will be a punk to any new fish entering the tank.
A timid fish like a firefish may be so spooked, it won't come out to eat.