BRS newbie!

Palyanna

Nano Princess
Hello! My name is Wendy. I have been on the site many times; but, this is actually my first post. I figured that the polite thing to do would be to finally introduce myself. I am new to reefkeeping; but, not exactly a “reef virgin” – for many years I have admired the beauty of my brother’s reef tank and spent countless hours gazing at its splendor. This year for Valentine’s Day my brother gave me an awesome gift – he set up a 14 gallon nano reef tank for me! (Some of you have probably seen pictures of my nano on-line in the Photography forum . . .) At the outset I had no idea how addicted I would become in such a short period of time. (I think my family is secretly planning an intervention for me . . . )

My tank quickly developed into a sort of species specific tank that contains primarily Florida Ricordea. I don’t know what it is about Florida Ricordea that intrigues me so much; but, I find them absolutely fascinating little creatures. I am having fun and learning so many new things (I just wish I had paid more attention in science class when I was a kid!) I think that I am off to a great start although I must admit that it helps to have a resident reefer around to teach me what I need to know to help ensure my success in the hobby; and for that, I am truly grateful. It’s like having a personal Reef Sherpa!

By day, I am a practicing attorney who works in Boston; by night, I have become a reef maniac! Call me a dork; but, one of my new favorite pastimes is waiting until the daylights go out so I can see all my corals glow under the actinics.

From what I have viewed on the site thus far, there appears to be a lot of camaraderie and friendly exchange of advice/information on the forums. I look forward to chatting with you all! Here are some pictures of my tank as of today . . .

Since Valentine’s Day 2008, these corals/creatures have “commenced occupancy” in my nano:

a plethora of Ricordea Florida