Curious about vodka dosing

wolffman1992

Non-member
I have been researching carbon dosing out of interest and while I do not have a nutrient problem in my tank I am interested if anyone here doses vodka and how have the results turned out? I have read the commonly found articles on the subject but I want to hear from actual experience. How did you start it? Why did you start it? And what were the results, particularly in SPS dominated tanks.

I've been dosing modestly with vinegar in my mixed reef for a few yrs now. I've found it helpful in keeping nutrients manageable, but I also don't push the limits on the dose or strive for a ULNS condition in my system.

I would dose vinegar in my ato. Prob not enough to do anything but my tank was really clean. Also like John, I didn't push the limits with the system

How much vinager did you start with and were you precise with it. On and off dosing when you thought of it or regularly added to ATO

I always had a well controlled dose via peristaltic pump on a timer. IIRC I went with the recomended starter vodka dose X8, and then increased slightly over time when I saw no bad things happening.

I would not recomend organic carbon/vodka/vinegar/sugar dosing unless you have a reliable way to deliver it consistently and at least daily.