Is a canister filter overkill for phosphate remover (GFO)?

tubsy3

Non-member
I wanted to start running some phosphate removal on my tank and was looking into a phosban reactor or something similar and also into canister filters. Since its my first time running the GFO i guess I will run small dosage and slowly increse so that my sps wont RTN. The canister filter I was looking at was the smallest eheim ecco that is around 100gph flow rate. I would also run carbon in there at the same time (which is why I looked into canister filters) since the cost of 2 reactors is close to the canister filter. But is the flow in a canister filter too much for the GFO? Should I put it in a filter bag?

I was thinking the best thing was run the water through the gfo first then through carbon, then put a foam pad like how the reactors have at the top to catch any loose gfo particles? Does this sound right? Or will the reactor serve me much better?

BTW this is for a 120g tank.

Thanks!
Chris

So I have a (Pentair Aquatics (Rainbow Lifegard) Single Mechanical Filter Module AF-94) which is more or less a canister filter. I was thinking about getting rid of it and buying a phosban reactor............

Seems like the phosban requires less flow and is less expensive?
Frank

I'm running gfo in a canister right now because I had one laying around. It's a bit of a pain because the gfo particles are so fine. I'm using Rowaphos and I had to cut up pieces of fine mesh bag and silicone them into the canister baskets to keep the gfo in place. I didn't want to use a bag because the water will mostly just flow around it. The foam pads won't keep the gfo from blowing through. The flow is too high and the pads are too coarse. I'm moving everything to fluidized reactors when the basement system is finished. If you're starting from scratch, I'd go the reactor route - one for carbon and one for gfo.