Mentor? - Gardner MA (N Worc County) area.

gweston

Non-member
I'm new to this thing but working towards getting a system together. Anyone in the area have some ability mentor or lend a hand?

Going to edge into the hobby with patience and care.

The ultimate goal. A mix community reef tank. I'd ultimately like a sargassum or blue jaw trigger and a couple tangs. Plus a few misc critters (2xclowns, inverts, jawfish). Eventually some LPS/SPS and a clam but I'll edge into it slowly over time.

Bribery with home brew beer (I have some at the moment)? Also if you are local, its good to know people in the area for those times when you need a reef-sitter when vacationing, etc.

I have misc stuff on hand already sitting in the basement.
125G 6' long tank
Stand - needs finishing up
Pumps, RODI, some liverock curing in brute, some dryrock.
Need to build a hood and screen top still.

Planning to build in an overflow. Need to drill the tank:
If anyone has experience (and tools) to drill a tank. Maybe we can make some sort of arrangement? I can be handy with tools. Just get nervous cutting holes in glass. I don't want to have a 6' long glass paperweight :eek:

I'm in S. Worc. County there's plenty of folks with knowledge in the hobby out this area of the state.Reading off what you have and don't,the lighting is going to be your BIG expense.
Have you decided on what kind,T5,halides...ect..ect.
You can get plenty of information here and I'm sure if you get stck somebody could take a road trip to your place.I have a mixed reef with clams,tangs,,ect.

I jumped ahead of myself and got a 48" 2x250Watt Halide (10K) with 2x 56wactinic (608 watt total) fixture over a month ago before I landed the tank. I was thinking to stick this in a hood and supplement the 12" on each end to start. Maybe PC daylights or LED's.

Down the line I may change to retros halides, actinics and moonlights. Not sure yet.