New folks from Providence, RI

TheBigDrewsky

BRS Member
Hello,

Just wanted to drop a short note of introduction. Just joined BRS over the weekend. My partner (MacAngelo) and I have been interested in reef systems and only in the past few weeks have we been serious about moving forward. We met a few great people at Sea Creature Aquarium last week and looking forward to getting to know more people as time permits.

I work in healthcare (Pawtucket area) and MacAngelo is a tattoo artist working in a shop in Warwick. We have 2 mini schnauzers, a couple of cats, and now looking to add a nice reef tank to the house.

We have done some initial looking around and have begun to realize that the costs associated with just starting up a reef tank are enormous so we are taking things slowly...we're hoping to get lucky one of these days and be "first responders" to ads in which people are selling entire systems...looks like that is pretty much luck of the draw...

Ultimately, I think we'd like to get to a 150 gallon tank, but we arent opposed to starting smaller (75-90) and working our way up from there. Ideally, we enjoy both chorals and anemones so looks like 2 tanks will be the way to go in the future. However, we're still trying to get used to the reefer lingo like "Zo's", "SPS", "LPS", "T-5s", etc. It's all a bit confusing but we'll get there.

Hope to meet some of you out there that are reasonably close by in the future, but are willing to travel outside the Providence area to see (or buy) some good stuff.

It's been great so far!

Congrats on joining the site. There are a lot of good deals and even better brains on the site. Once your all set up let me know im sure i have some stuff i can contribute to the cause. Dont be afraid to post in the WTB (want to buy) forum with what your looking for.

I am looking to get some more tattoo work done so maybe we can do some frags or equipment for ink but who knows?