"Old Tank syndrome" and sandbed collapse

I just started in sw around eight months ago so I don't know all the ins and outs yet but I've been doing fw for over 20 years and those tanks can supposedly get "OTS" as well. I have never run into it in one of my tanks though. Maybe it's due to the way I clean the tank. Every now and then I do a cleaning of the sand bed. I use one of the clear plastic siphons you see in all the stores. What I do is put the siphon in the sand and suck up a column of it. Then before it can be pulled into the hose I stop the flow and let the column of sand collapse back down. I then restart the flow and pull all the nasty water and stuff that's been liberated from the sand out of the tank. This probably accomplishes the same thing as stirring but without allowing what you stirred up to circulate throughout the tank. Does this take out some of the bacteria in the sand bed, sure, but it doesn't wipe it out. That would be impossible. I also don't clean everywhere, just the sandy areas that are out in the open. So far this has worked for my fw tanks. Time will tell if it works with my sw tanks too.

You won't be able to do this with the fine sand that is in most of our tanks without losing most of it down the drain. It works much better with the gravel that is used in most fresh water tanks.

And also, in some cases out sand slowly dissolves, so the particles become smaller and smaller over time. This is particularly true in the lower pH zones below the surface of the sand bed.