pros and cons

• Thread starter jokersplayground
  • Start date
J

jokersplayground

of having a bare bottom tank, or have a sandy bottom tank. im thinking of taking out the sand im my dt and i want to know as many facts as possible before i just go and jump in.

Try doing a search on the forum. I have seen this question asked a few times over the past five years.

yea ive read some of them. they really dont talk about the pro or con on it.

Pro: easy clean up of detritus
Con: may get different visual effects due to no refraction of light (which may not be a con). Until coralline starts growing will see any scratches from rocks/ old sandbed.

When I did my upgrade it started as bare bottom, then went to black sand and a year later went back to good ole white sand.
Opinions are going to be all over the place!!!!

ive read on other forums that it can reduce your nitrates to almost nothing. is that true

I have been running bare bottom for many years now and its fine. I have about 80-90 time turn over rate in my tank, so there is absolutely little to no debris settle in my display tank. Everything is pushed down to the sump. I change 15 gallons of water every week and during the water change I just vacuum out all the debris settled there using a maxi jet. I don't measure nitrate very often but when I do, my nitrate level is almost 0 every time.

Just take out the sand for awhile and if you don't like it, put it back in.

How long has your tank been running?
Is everything growing? - if yes, then why change things?

I did a ton of research on this before making a decision. As others have said, opinions are all over the place and there's no "right" answer.

Bare Bottom-
Pros: Easy to clean, Cheaper, lower non-organics if skimming/changing filter media regularly
Cons: Looks unnatural (imo), critters that sift sand for food won't be happy, fish that like to burrow / move sand won't be happy, less bacteria growth

Shallow sand bed- .5-2 inches