six's 40 gallon breeder build

sixspeed

Non-member
Hey BRS, over the past few months i have been acquiring the necessary pieces to put together a nice 40 gallon breeder system. I want to be able to house some of the easier SPS corals, but i will most likely have a lot of zoa's acan's and other LPS. I currently have a 29 gallon mixed reef up and running, this will be broken down and combined into the breeder. It is going to be a peninsula style tank, with an overflow at one end that will be covered by a foam rock wall. That is the basics of what i am going for.

I guess i will start off by listing the equipment i plan to use for this tank.

40 gallon breeder display
20 gallon long sump
PFO 250w MH pendant 12k reeflux bulb
Reef Octopus NW-110
Two Little Fishes Phosban Reactor (probably going to run carbon)
Koralia 3 (thinking about adding a nano but not sure)
Rio 2500 for the return (I know the rio's arent the best, but its what i have and im a recent graduate with no job at the moment)

The other night i was able to put together my stand for this beast. Here it is, i just need to get a piece of plywood or something a bit nicer to go on the top and underneath. Then i will sand her down and start priming and painting.

IMG_0064.jpg

IMG_0066.jpg

Here is a picture of the sump and skimmer i am going to be using.

IMG_0068.jpg

I need to redo the baffles in order to get the skimmer to fit correctly. I am planning on moving the bubble trap over to the right more and putting the skimmer in the far left section. The flow through the sump will be from right to left. Is that how i want to set this up? Or would the skimmer be better off in the return section?

Thanks for everyones help in advance, i am excited to get this thing going.

That is going to be my fuge area, going to have some lr and grow a lot of chaeto. Sorry i didnt clarify that earlier.

Flow should be left to right, with the skimmer in the first chamber.

skimmer > fuge > return