The Aiptasia hunt!

LuizaSaad

Non-member
Hi Everyone! My name is Luiza and I’m a postdoc researcher at MIT. I’m currently developing research on the nudibranch Berghia stephanieae. I’m trying to understand their regeneration capacities, and how they accomplished regenerating their bodies and ceratas, which is really cool. I currently have a big aquarium with 9 reproductive adults. But I'm running into a big problem. Unfortunately, my Aiptasia colony is not keeping up with the Berghia hungry. They are eating them way too fast. So I know it’s very unusual, but I'm on a search for Aiptasia. Maybe you are trying to get rid of them or know better tips for raising Aiptasia I'm more than happy to have some or learn how to make them thrive. I really appreciate it!

I have some in the back chamber of my all in one. After my chaeto crashed, they took off, growing in constant 24 hr light since I’ve been too lazy to shut it off. You might try constant light to increase their growth if it won’t mess with your Berghias’ circadian rhythm.

Have also read that mechanically trying to remove them or injuring them can induce spawning, how much have you physically messed with the anemones?

(I could also try to scrape mine out as I have been meaning to do, and give them to you. But it’s only a dozen or so, doubt it would help much.)