4 Week old reef tank

Miller

Non-member
Hello,
I am new to reef tanks, the first photo is of my 10 gallon reef tank that is now 4 weeks old. The second photo is of a coral that my girlfriend and I are unsure what it is, we think it is a paly. Could somebody tell us what the corals are in the second and third photos?

Thanks in advance,
Barry

Attachments

• 10-gallon-reef-web.jpg
    10-gallon-reef-web.jpg
    82.5 KB · Views: 555
  • unknown coral web.JPG
    unknown coral web.JPG
    84.8 KB · Views: 518
  • Unknown Coral 2 web.JPG
    Unknown Coral 2 web.JPG
    85.7 KB · Views: 587
wow nice, My tank never tooked that clean expecially at 4 weeks, You have a lot in their for the time it's been up.

We have 7 snails, a cleaner shrimp, 2 blue leg hermits, and a scarlet hermit for a clean up crew. I know we have a lot in there, its so hard to be patient. With the live rock and sand that we started the tank with it cycled in 11 or 12 days.

Welcome!
My advice is to be very careful adding new things to a 10 gal, and to do it very gradually. Tanks that small are naturally unstable compared to the larger one's. You should do frequent water tests and water changes.
Enjoy!

Thanks GinaD
We do weekly water tests and 10-15% water changes every 10 days. Would it be better to do weekly water changes? I tired to add slowly, 1-2 creatures every 4ish days.

I have a Current USA light 2x65 watt 50/50 Daylight Actinic that hangs 4 inches over the water. The fixture is about 3-4 inches longer then the tank, I was buying some coral frags off of a lady and she gave me the light. Before that I had some not so good 20 watt light.

When adding fish you'll start to see the water parms changing.

The best advice anyone here can give is to gooo slooow! :)