Converting a standard tank to rimless

SylvesterGraham

Non-member
I've recently come across a 90 gallon tank. It's great, but it has that ugly wood trim.

I'm wondering, has anyone ever taken the frame off a standard tank to convert it into a rimless? Please keep reading, I posted this on reefcentral and people seem to stop reading here and reply "no you can't" with capitals or punctuation.

I imagine it wouldn't be quite that easy, and a little bracing additions would be in order.

Has any one ever stripped the silicone off a standard tank and rebuilt it into a rimless using the presized panes from the standard?

I'm no structural engineer, but I've built a 15 gallon, and have read a bit about building larger tanks (building a jig, buffing out microcracks, bracing)

Thanks for any help!

I think the biggest concern would be glass thickness....hence the supporting frame.On rimless tanks the glass seems to considerably thicker.

on a 10 gallon you sould be fine but on a 90,i would not risk it.If you don't like the wood grain,paint it any colors you want

The trim and centerbrace are there for structure. Without them the tank will bow in the middle. With enough bowing it will crack the glass. Bigger rimless tanks are made with much thicker glass to help this and they frequently have eurobracing around the edges. I wouldnt risk it. 90 gallons of water is alot when it comes crashing through the glass and onto the floor.