Crabs Delicate? (common: Red/Blue Hermit, Emerald, Salty lightfoot)

WarSea378

Non-member
I am a beginner toward novice hobbyist (and getting better everyday, ha ha), however, I have found the common LFS crab to be difficult to keep. I have had success in most of my invert adoptions, though I have made a few beginner fouls, I find that the above noted crabs don't last more than a few weeks/months in my keep. Are crabs particularly sensitive? I had not heard they were. Without bogging down my question, I have had success with some fairly sensitive animals...

I suppose what I'm looking for are the following answers... are they susceptible to some minor fluctuations in tank environ, how old/big do they live in nature, what can kill them in captivity...

I know I'm looking at a myriad of responses here, but my water is kept from acceptable to favorable for both a fish and soft coral enviro... (according to mine and the LFS testings)

If it matters much, I can see a variety of 'pods in my refugium and main, from super tiny to pretty big.

Yes crabs can be delicate.
How do you acclimate the crabs?
What are the parameters that are favorable?

I drip acclimate and watch temps, but all the crabs were inhabitants for some time. This wasn't one big die off all at once, I've just found they don't seem to hang in there for very long. I introduced two Emerald Green crabs (about the size of a quarter) who died within a couple days of each other after about 6 weeks of what seemed to be happy living. The blue legged hermits that I've bought, half dozen a couple of months apart, seem to go a few weeks then little by little there just happen to be less and less of them.