critter question

tuchon35

Non-member
I am fairly new to reef tanks, and i have a newbie question. Recently my tank seems to be infested by little bugs (pods?). I am not sure what they are, and some are upto a 1/4 inch long, while the norm is much smaller.

I can't provide a picture because they are so small and fast. Some leave behind tiny white snail looking things on the rocks, glass,snails, and everything else. Are they any danger or are they beneficial? Or is there no way of telling without pictures?

Thanks

Is hard to say without a picture, but sounds like isopods and copepods.
I dont have any pics here, but you can do a google search and compare the images with whatever you have in you tank.

Gustavo

Hmm, tough to call. Sounds like they may just be copepods.
If the lights are out, try using a flashlight to look into the tank. Are the little white flea-looking things attracted to the light? Do they form a little cloud and follow the light?
Here's a link to good reading material:
http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2002-10/rs/

Thanks,
It looks like i have both of them, unless the smaller ones are just immature copepods, but it sounds like they mature quickly. Also sounds like there are so many, is because i do not have any fish.

While i have your attention, Are there any fish suitable for a 55 gallon tank? I ruled most of them out, because they either get too large, or the tank is to small to support pods and such that would replenish quick enough, as a sole food source (if that makes any sense). Plus, i do not have a DSB, and do not have the funds for refugium.

I always heard overstocking was bad for the bioload, so my logic was no fish would almost eliminate the bioload. But.... I think its about time to get something

I'm not sure I understand your question about the fish. Most will take prepared foods, so you don't need to wory about having enough pods to support them. You can get several fish for a 55 without having to many.