Hello! Introduction and Advice

Old Glory

Non-member
Hi I am new to the forum. I have been keeping freshwater fish for two years now and I am looking to start a saltwater tank. I have worked at a pet store years ago (PJ's in Saugus) and things have really changes since then!

I have been doing some research online and reading books. I want to start with a FOWLR tank around 90 gallons. I have been told that a sump is not necessary. The live rock provides ample biological filtration and with a protein skimmer and a canister or HOB filter I would be fine. I am not looking to set up a reef only tank but would like to eventually (2 years) start adding corals. For me right now it is all about the fish (I was inspired by a snorkeling trip on my Honeymoon in Hawaii). My end goal is to have a Hawaiian biotope...at least as much as possible.

Starting to put a list together for what I want for fish, but I need to figure out what the hardware will be. My new wife is going to kill me this is an expensive hobby!

Tank - Glass Cages 90L 48x18x24Tall Front glass Starphire (Sump???)
100 lbs Live Rock
Live Sand
Protein Skimmer
Canister Filter Eheim Pro3xl
Heater Finnex 500w
2 Power heads
Light??

Any thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated. I plan on buying components and putting this together over the Fall and Winter.

Thanks!:)

welcome to BRS
I would get a light that you would eventually get to raise basic corals,
look for some used lights on the fs forem.
not sure u need the canister filter, maybe to hold carbon?
look into test kits and a refractometer

I sump is great to hold the skimmer and cheato

welcome and enjoy the hobby

Welcome. I'd go with a sump so you can get a good in sump skimmer, they work a bit better then the hand on type. You can also put all your heater in the sump. Personally I'd look in the fs section for a good used 90 that is reef ready, this will save a good amount of money.

Get a refractometer and not a swing arm, they don't work well.