HELP! My trigger has popeye!

Fitz4fish

Non-member
Ok, I am a realtive newbie to this arena, so please don't knock me down too much. I have made a couple costly mistakes but Im learning!
I have a 150 gal FOWLER tank (well two small pieces of coral). I recently have aquired a Blue Jaw Triggerfish. I only have a few other/non agressive fish in there.
Now, I only know the behavior of a trigger only from what I read. I do not have a quarentine tank yet. (see opening sentence). When I first added the trig to my tank I was so suprised at how active he was. Swimming all around and thru a large bubble stream I have. That lasted 2 days. Then for a whole week I couldn't find him (I saw him but never ever came out of hiding) I NEVER saw him eat. It wasnt until a few days ago where I slightly saw him and noticed his eye was filmed over and starting to swell. Only one eye though. Even though 3 weeks later I have yet to see him eat, yesterday he was out swimming around, looking pretty healthy adide from his eye. I am under the assumption that the activity in my house might take some adjusting to, thats the reson he's been hiding. And I noticed alot of empty shells of snails/crabs on the floor of the tank. Am I safe to assume thats what he is eating and if so, what else should i try to give him. And for the eye? I've been giving water changes and all the readings have been normal (ph, nitrate ect)
Please, any advice will be helpful!
(Oh, and I am only saying popeye because thats what I read online, but no other signs of parasites)
Fitz4fish!

popeye is prob an infection....QT and use saltwater maracyn or maracynII. Keep aeration up and have plenty of hiding places...no lights needed

Ok, back to my original problem, I only have a 5 gallon QT tank I set up only a week ago. I transfered some water over, but I don't think its cycled at all. Does it need to be? Is 5 gallons big enough? Trigger is about 4 inches.