Metal Halide question

beckisguy73

Non-member
I'm new to the metal halide lighting.. What is the difference between 10, 12, 14 & 20K bulbs??? I have a 6' Aquamedic fixture with 3 250w and 2 150w DE bulbs... the 150's are actinic. I want to know what would be the better bulb when it comes to replacments.. I want to pretty much grow what ever coral I choose to put in the tank..

Mike...

BTW it's going on a 220G tank that I plan to use as a coral grow out tank only with one pinstripe wrasse just to keep the corals clean..

if your looking for growth go with 10k a lot less blue in it but a little brighter for the coral then go back to 14 or 20 next time. the higher the number the bluer the tank

I had 10k 250w Ushio's and recenlty, well a few weeks ago, upgraded to 14k Ushio's and can almost not tell the difference. The 10k's just seemed to be too yellow for my likeing. Im getting about the same growth, the 14k's are just slightly less yellow.

you might want to be more specific....the aquamedic fixture should be 2x250 MH and 2x54w T-5 fluorescent bulbs, which would be your actinic supplementation.

Look at Ushio 14k bulbs for your MH, and Actinic Plus bulbs for your T-5

use 10k's for the 250 watt bulbs, and you'll get the most growth. for the 150 watt bulbs you'll want some blue to balance out the yellowish 10k's, so go for either 14 or 20k bulbs for the 150's.

so use a mix of 10k's and 20k's. that should get you good color, but growth as well. other people will be better at recommending specific bulbs, as i've only ever dealt with single ended bulbs, so i can't help much.

you might want to be more specific....the aquamedic fixture should be 2x250 MH and 2x54w T-5 fluorescent bulbs, which would be your actinic supplementation.

Look at Ushio 14k bulbs for your MH, and Actinic Plus bulbs for your T-5

i think he's got the all MH style light, with 5 MH's, 2x 150 and 3x 250.