New to BRS Forums and an ID request

deirdre138

Non-member
Hello,
I am a lurker turned poster. I'm from the Boston area. I work as a tattooer full-time and a vet tech part-time because I can be a work-a-holic. I have a nanocube at home, a pico at the shop that I am about to upgrade to a 6G and a goldfish tank. My pets with feet include my beloved geriatric pitbull, Tallulah and my two troublemaking cats. :)

I am looking forward to learning from these forums!

In the meantime, the LFS suggested I post this ID request on this board as nano-reef wasn't sure and she wasn't sure either.

The background is...
I came home to find my 3inch T. Derasa on its side and in trouble, the next day it was dead.

70w Sunpod MH
gh 180
kh 240
ph 8.4
no2 0
no3 0
salinity 1.024
temp 76
calcium is 550ppm
the tank has been established for about 10 months.

all other inhabitants look great.

So, I did a fw dip and little weird bugs came out. My camera could not get a good pic of them but I brought them to work today and looked at them under the microscope and drew them... here it is... what do you think?

Thank you!
Deirdre

Attachments

• weirdbug.jpg
    weirdbug.jpg
    58.7 KB · Views: 449
OOh thank you so much for the speedy reply, I have been fretting for days wondering if they were something bad.
they might be sphaeromatid isopods. i originally thought they were tiny chitons until I saw the legs today. they are about 2mm at most, oval, flattish and clearish... (with maybe some guts). The eyes looked so cool under the microscope they were just so unlike any of the usual pods I see. I wanted to make sure they weren't anything parasitic.

thanks again!

why hello!

Thanks..
if it was for a tattoo of course, i would have made it a bit neater and more symmetrical. I work at Pino Bros Ink in Inman Sq, Cambridge, MA.