"Newbie" tank set-up help

CPTrigger

Non-member
Okay so I feel kinda like an idiot asking this question as I've been setting up tanks off and on (more off than on) for the past 10 years. When I first started setting up tanks the technology and knowledge base of most people was very low on things. So on to my question:

I am planning on starting a 144g half circle tank that I want to turn into a reef tank in the upcoming year or so. This will be the biggest tank I've set up and a different set-up than I've ever done. My question(s) is what kind of filtration would you all reccommend? I've been looking at the Rapids Pro PS 4 Wet and Dry that comes with a skimmer. Is this a good filter, what I'm looking for.

Also, the refugium has been an increasing hot topic that I have to admit I do not know much about. If I use the filter above, or any filter system for that matter, would a fuge be beneficial/needed? If so, does anyone have suggestions of a good fuge to get/build.

I want to take my time with this and research in great detail. My goal is to have a system that my family can enjoy and not do too much to while I deploy for 6-months at a time with the Navy. I appreciate any help I get and have enjoyed everyone's post that I have read so far. Thanks in advance.

Trigger

What type of tank are you setting up? Fish only, mixed Reef? Is the tank drilled? How little do you want your family to deal w/ while your deployed (thats a tough one). For filtration ideally you would want to use live rock along with a sump/fuge combo with a skimmer, but again the 6 months away could make this tough.

BTW - Welcome.:)

Tank would be a mixed fish/reef. I plan on using about 150-175lbs of LR and 120lbs of LS. The wife is pretty good when it comes to this and doesn't mind doing a little work as long as I have it listed what she needs to do and when. As far as I know, tank is not drilled.