Reef Tank Check List

redtigrinus

Non-member
Hey,

I'm new to the reef hobby and I'm looking to setup my first reef tank. So I was wondering if any of you out there could help figure out what I need to set one up. Suggestions and preferences on equipment are welcome and appreciated. I was thinking about setting up a 75 gallon or a 60 gallon cube. The only thing I'm pretty sure about is that I want to go with the LED Radion for lighting. Everything else I have now clue. I'm not very handy so I probably wont be building anything myself. I really like lps corals but I want to build a tank that can house all types of corals and invertebrates.

Anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks

1. Tank 2.lighting 3. Sump/fuge 4.powerheads (vortechs since u are going with radions imo?) 5. Return pump. 6. Not nesesarry but beneficial, a brs reactor for gfo and carbon to keep water clean and clear. 7. Bucket of salt. 8. REverse osmosis unit. 9. Rubbermaid barrel (to mix rodi water and salt) thats the basic that comes to my head as of right now.

O and #10. Refractometer.............#11. Test kits. :)

THEN FOR LIVE STOCK IS UP TO U (REEF SAFE FISH IF UR PLANNING TO HAVE CORALS)......U WILL NEED LIVE ROCK AND IDK IF U WANT TO DO A SAND BED OR JUST HAVE A BAREBOTTOM. BUT IF SAND IS UR CHOICE, I WOULD GO WITH THE REEF GRADE SAND TO PREVENT SANDSTORMS IN UR TANK.

Last edited:
#12. Skimmer
#13. Heater
#14. Auto Top-off
#15. Timer / Power strip / Controller
#16. Dipping solutions (when you start adding corals)
#17. QT or hospital tank & equipments (when you start adding fish)

Thanks. I do want fish. I definitely want a purple tang and maybe a hippo tang for big fish. Im sure Ill want to add some smaller fish like cardinals or clowns, gobies, etc. I do plan to use sand I'm thinking Arag Alive Aragonite Fine Reef Sand. Whats the difference between a sump and a fuge? I kinda wanna go with the fuge to grow algae for my tangs but I dont know yet.