Since I'm a newbie again, here's a newbie question

One Eye

former vp of pr
OK, so I set up the tank. I used all dead nasty rock. After the crash of 2 years ago I just let all the water evaporate from the tank and left all the rock and dead coral sitting there. I mean, after the tanks crashed all I did was pull the power plugs and pretend I didn't have tanks for 2 years.
It went through a phase of just nasty, stagnant water with a nice brown film over the top to a dry tank just from evaporation. The rock had dried salt all over it, coral skeletons everywhere.
All I did was put the tank on a stand, add a little sand and the nasty rock, never cleaned the tank or the rock, and filled it with water.

Here's my question. Why doesn't it stink? There is NO odor at all??

2 years is a long time. It's possible that whatever decaying material that WAS on there is no longer present.

WELCOME TO THE BRS One Eye!! :D

I think you'll find the club a useful resource for all your newbie questions.

What an interesting user name. How did you come up with that? :p:p:p

Anyways, how long ago did you fill the tank? Is it possible that the putrid stinking female-repelling mess is still getting warmed up?

They decay may have been fairly well over by the time it turned into the dead sea, and then the dry dead sea... but the organics are still there so be prepared for a wicked-bad algae bloom.

I'm thinking you should not leave your windows closed when you leave for work. One of these days, you're gonna come home to a surprise... :eek:

Are you running a skimmer?? Is it pulling anything out??

I,m mixing up more salt water now to fill the sump. The skimmer is in the sump. So no, the skimmer isn't pulling anything....yet.

I expected this to be like making beef broth from bullion cubes. Add water, heat it up a little and enjoy the aroma.
Guess I just need more patience

Are you playing a game with people, Darren?