Very Frustrated! About to give up, need a solution.

GottisEgo

Non-member
To all BRS,

I have been traveling extensively for the past 2 months or so for work. During that time you may recall me ranting about my red slime creeping and taking over the tank. Well as I come to find out, my lovely girlfriend has been topping off my tank with straight tap water. She was to lazy to use my RODI every time the ATO needed a refill.

So right to the point. My tank is a disaster. I've never seen redslime take over an entire powerhead. I recently used that redslime remover rememdy but nothing, not a freaking dent. On top of that, my MJ900 W/ a mod that I believe said it was Algae proof has ALGAE lol. I'm not kidding, but this is really taking over the environment. My rock's do not look like they used to, sand is a disaster, my powerhead's are being taking over. It's weird.

Could all this redslime and everything be due to all the tap water being put into my tank. Also, you can imagine the water changes have been limited to every 2-3 weeks.

I love my tank. I have spent time and money on my own little waterworld but I seem to be doing a horrible job. As the fall comes near I will attempt to shift everything over to a more advanced 90gallon system as I have planned for so long but how can I do so when the basics seem to be failing me.

Sorry for the rant everyone but I need some sort of plan or I'm going to let everything go.

Regards,

Doug

Oh yeah easily the tap waster. The nutrients in the tap water are feeding the Cyano. I would syphon of and much Cyano as you can before you treat it again. I prefer to use chemi clean though.
I would say some agressive water changes Carbon and GFO. Then hit it with the Chemi clean or redslime remover.

Water changes- 30% twice the first week, then once a week until everything is squared away.
Change out the carbon and GFO with every water change and syphon all the detritus out of your sump, overflows etc.