Very high alkalinity!

SeaCilla1212

Non-member
Hello everyone I am new to this hobby and I'm trying to get my levels right in my tank. I seem to be having a huge problem with the alkalinity. Right now it's at 19. I believe it's supposed to be between 8 and 10? I have a 55gallon and I am doing a 5gallon water change every other day to help lower the alkalinity. Could u guys give me some tips on what else I can do to lower my alkalinity?

anything in the tank? At 19, would anything be alive? I would retest and test your new salt water also for reference. Maybe have a lfs test it for you?

If you have not added anything to you water those parameters have to be a result of a faulty test kit. Test with another kit.

Have you tested your salinity ? Is 1025-1026 ?

are you dosing 2 part? after confirming the alk level you need to stop dosing and I would do a BIG water change to drop the level.

what corals do you have in that tank currently?

Just sent you a PM with the results from your water tests and your alkalinity is definitely high.

What kind of salt are you using and are you adding anything to it while mixing? I would stop adding anything until you test again.

Are you using any additives at all? (PH "buffer" maybe?)

How are you checking SG?

I sometimes use a ph buffer. But I have never added anything else. I have two fish in there and just re did my aqua scape and put the live rock back in. The only corals in there r a mushroom that got stuck to the rock and Xenia that got stuck to the rock as well. The rest of the corals r in a separate tank waiting for my levels to be correct before I put them in the display. But I'm having trouble getting my levels right. Also I have used two different tests and had someone from the meeting take home a sample and test it as we'll and every test shows it being very high. Should I just keep doing my five gallon water changes every other day?