When to add fish

Tooch81

Non-member
So i apologize if this is a stupid question but i'm new to saltwater tanks. I've run 90G freshwater tanks in the past but the 30G i now have set-up is the first venture into the saltwater world.

Anyway, i'm running a 30G biocube with 6lbs of live rock (adding more as i go) and 40lbs of live sand. My take is fully cycled and i put two cleaner shrimp and 4 small snails in today. However, when should i add the fish? I don't plan on putting in too many (4-5 4" fish max) but i found the perfect two fish i wanted to add. Is it too soon to add them tomorrow? I'm not sure what spikes in ______ to expect with saltwater. I already have my fish picked out as well as the what order to put them in, so these are a perfect fit to my plan.

Thanks again and i'm sorry if i'm a stupid noob

If water cycled fully then you can slowly add fish one at a time. For smaller fishes like fire gobi or crown fish kind will be OK for a couple at a time but not yellow tang or blue tangs surgen fish must add one add a time.

Don't put yourself down, trust me...we've ALL been there. If your tank is cycled, you should be good to go...just keep an eye on your nitrates and ammonia (assuming your nitrites are at ZERO). In my opinion, 5-4" fish is 1 or 2 too many for a 30 gallon unless you are absolutely religious about a weekly 5G water change and checking all your levels once or twice weekly. It also depends on your skimmer, sump/return,power heads for water movement/detritus removal.

You're GOING to make mistakes, trust me. Hitting the forum every time you have a question is the best favor you can do for yourself...this community is a wealth of knowledge. Don't take it so hard if you muck something up is what I'm getting at. Good luck.