Another New Guy

riguy314

Non-member
Hello all!
I am new to Boston Reefers and still relatively new to the hobby. Here is a little background info. Have had a 72 gal Bow Front tank running since 01. The sump is located beneath the tank with a ETSS reef Devil skimmer, heater, Live rock, carbon bag and pumps. Lighting is a Marastar MH / T5 lights, although I have not run the MH due to the heat they create. We have redesigned it several times over the years, going for the old rock wall look to the island look and now tower on each side look. The tank itself has been great and running very smoothly with the exception of the tank wipeout at the beginning of last summer. We lost everyone with the exception of, you guessed it, a clownfish. Inverts were not effected. Not so lucky were a Red Sea Sailfin Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Watchman gobie, Flame angel. The only survivor was a 12yr old Clownfish "Nemo". original I know. We do not know exactly what caused it but it happened over night and very quickly. It wasn't fun trying to explain to twin 5 yr olds where our fish went. ok, you got me. I may have told a little white lie or two about that one. Let's just say the still missing are at the hospital Aquarium and will be coming home soon. Hint #1.

Fast forward to today...we have replaced the flame angel, added 2 wrasses, BTA w/ anemone crab and a emperor angel. I realize the tank is too small for her when she grows just a little but I couldn't resist. see below ::. Fish are feed 1-2 times a day - mix of foods, Rod's Reef, Ocean Nutrition Flakes, and Frozen angel formula. seaweed on a rock or clip is given 3-4 times a week usually opposite time of the feeding. Food is usually soaked with Selcon, Angellixir, Vita Chem or Garlic. All kidding aside, Rod's Reef Food has got to be some of the best food. Not saying it to promote the line, I can only say that the everyone in the tank loves it. Just ordered several others varieties of Rod's and cannot wait to get it.