I am new to this....HELP

kswanson7

Non-member
I am a 6th grade science teacher in Malden. I was given 125 gallon tank a few years back that was originally freshwater. Two years ago I converted it to a saltwater tank. After slowly going through the process it was up and running fairly successfully. I have never been able to keep fish for more than 6 months give or take so you can imagine how expensive its been. This year however after returning after the summer doing a water change and clearing up most of the agaea I cannot seem to keep anything alive that I add t it. I have gone through 300 worth of fish in the last 6 weeks. Two shipments gone within a weeks time. I have two small damsels which are the only 2 fish that I orginally put in two years ago. There is an algae blenny and small yellow watchman goby still living that I just put in last week. Probaly a dozen snails remaining and about 40plus hermit crabs and 2 aneomes. I have a basic filter used just to keep the water moving plus a protein skimmer and orbit lighting system. All my levels seem to check out fine as well as temperature and salinity. I am soo discouraged at this point since the money I put in is out of pocket and my students are disheartened as well. They are so excited to see the fish being put in and then disappointed a few days later when they die. At this point I feel like giving up and draining the whole tank, however this is my last attempt to seek some help from those way more advanced into the hobby than myself. I am merely a beginner at best who is just trying to provide for my classroom. Any advice, suggestions, donations or even if someone is local to the Malden area and wouldn't mind coming by my classroom to take a peek!!! Anxiously awaiting feedback!!