i'm dying over here, and so are my fish

cps68500

Non-member
I cycled my tank about 2 months ago. I finally purchased a pair of clowns and a plate coral about two weeks ago (besides a dozen hermits, these are the only things I've placed in there.) 1 died after 48 hours. It was the smaller of the two and I thought, ok I'm new to this it's probably something I did or the fish was too stressed. I checked levels and everything checked out fine:
Ammonia: 0
NO2: 0
NO3: 0
PH 8.2
TDS:3
Temp:78~79

I did a water change this past weekend, and again tested with the same results as above for water quality. Well I figured I would give it another go.

Bought a blue hippo tang last night. Dead tonight. It was all over the tank in store. Brought it home, put the bag in the tank... waited 30 mins, opened the bag and put about a cup of my salt water in, waited 20 mins, another cup of salt water and after another 20mins I removed him from the bag and slid him in the tank. I did not put the bag water in the tank.

He was fed later on that night, and again this morning as I do with the remaining clown. Tonight I came home and he was in the rocks and would not come out but was still visibly moving. After an hour...I checked on him and he was floating, then sucked into the powerhead... He is dead.

Is it me? What am I doing wrong? I don't want to keep doing this to fish.

Have you check nitrite and nitrate? What is you filter system like? How did you performs your test? Has anything fallen inside the tank?tell as much as you can about your tank.

Run some carbon just incase anything fell into you tank.

IMO your acclimation technique needs to be lengthened and altered..drip acclimate over a few hrs.Is your equipment new,used?

you may want to slow down, what did you mean by tds of 3? is that the tds of the rodi before mixing or what?

IMO your acclimation technique needs to be lengthened and altered..drip acclimate over a few hrs.Is your equipment new,used?