newbie looking for a refrence site

diastech

BRS Member
hello all,

i am a bit of a newbie to the hobbie, but i have been addicted to it since i started. right now i have a 90 gallon reef ready tank with a couple of lps and some polyps. but i am looking through the pics of the BRS forums from members and i so amazed at all the diffrent colors. i was looking into getting some more color into my tank, but i wanted to do my research and see what goes good with what and lighting requirements. etc. i have enough light for lps only, i dont have any metal haylides and i dont plan on getting them at the moment.

can anyone share any real excellent web sites on the net where i can look up this information? i have been visitng liveaquaria.com, but there isnt really any big choice and it doesnt compare to the colors i see here.

also, i am very new to buying coral. i cant afford to keep going to the lfs to buy corals, but i was looking for some deals here to get started. any tips on how i can buy, swap corals on BRS site? like a primer or a reference post somewhere?

thanks in advanced for your help, suggestions.

:w to BRS

There are many people out here with corals for sale I'm sure they will all chime in!!

well i guess part of the problem is i dont know what i am looking for or whats being posted. i am very new to all this and most of the info i have gotton is from my LFS when i am shopping. so i see what i like and ask questions on it.

anyone know of any sites that are excellent references?

this site is a wealth of information as well as reefcentral.com. Just ask questions and they will get answered probably twenty times by the end of the day by BRS users.

Ill second the recomendation for a good book. Just go to Barnes and Noble and grab a coffee pick up a few and start reading. If you find a good one, buy it!
If you have any questions about any types of coral just ask, theres a ton of us that were in your situation not too long ago, so ask away!!