[PLUMBING] Step inside guys and critique my plumbing

Kevin McG

Ni Hao!
As you all know I am pretty new to this hobby and the plumbing part of this project has been something I have not been looking forward to but it is time.

I am trying to keep it clean and simple yet I want it to function properly at the same time of course.

I am doing a simple straight into 45 degree 1 1/2"
IMG_0241.jpg

Then after straight section back into another 45
IMG_0239.jpg

More to come...

IMG_0242.jpg

not sure if these are going to be to low/high
IMG_0243.jpg

finished the durso also
IMG_0244.jpg

I also picked up 2 1 1/2" ball valves but I cannot see why I need to add them and where.

If you are doing some type of a durso to quiet the noise of the overflow, those pipes might go too deep in the sump and put too much back pressure on the pipe. If you see a flushing effect when you get it all going, that might be the cause.

Edit: you posted while I was typing.

Was gonna say the same thing as flighty.

Also, dursos work better if the pipe size is a lot bigger than the bulkhead, IE using 1.5" pvc on a 1" bulkhead, so that the durso is alwasy FULL of water....

When the bulkhead is hte choke point, theres no waterfall/gurgling effect inside the pipe. This will also keep air from going down into the sump, and keep everything quieter

Try it out befoer you change anything. Dursos are strange and there are so many things that effect their performance.

Basically with the durso's I duplicated them exactly the way the persome I bought the tank from had them, without the hole in the top cap. I will drill that out after I get water in the tank and start the system. I will start with a 1/16" hole.

You might want to use the ball valves just outside the tank, that way if you have to do some work in the sump and you need the water level low you can isolate the tank and keep all the water in your overflows, otherwise it is going to drain...just my 2 cents...