whats wrong?

Thanks for the input nate,

Do you have any comment on the grounded tank producing a slight shock? Is a human a better ground than the ti probe? Is stray voltage grounding through both the probe and the person at the same time?

Stop with the formulas! :D I just finished my Circuit I & II class last year and I dont want to see it again.At least for now....I'm majoring in electrical engineering.
Well, I tested with the voltmeter and it doesnt show anything. Then I took my hand in the tank and touch the vent and didnt feel the shock. Weird......
It was quite a mess when I changed the water yesterday. the floor was partly wet, my feet was wet. I got salt water spraying at he outlet and eveything esle when I slit the siphon tube out of the bucket. It was quite a mess.
Thanks for everyone's input. I will check to see if this happens agian on my next water change.

Jimmy, I'd expect if the probe is working correctly it would be a much better conductor than a BRS member. But maybe the probe is corroded or calcified, or maybe the outlet it's plugged into isn't grounded! :eek: Not sure. I'm really no expert though.

Yea, I'm kind of confused.

My shock experience was with a set up I don't have anymore. The outlets were grounded.

I never feel it with either of my current systems. When I started thinking static electircity, I also thought of a dirty ground probe so I cleaned it for 24 plus hours in vinegar so it looked brand new. Made no difference. Maybe some sort of steady current in the rug or concrete floor??

Whatever the case I am pretty sure that I only felt the shock when the carpet was damp from sloppy top off's and water changes. I'm not walking on a wet carpet anymore and I don't get shocked anymore.

Anyone more electricially educated than I, know if something can ground through two things at once, or if the electricity will just find the easiest path?