10 gallon FOWLR

barteri

Non-member
Hello,

I'm looking to setup a 10 gallon FOWLR tank. I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice. I'm new to saltwater but I've been keeping Freshwater fish with live plants for about a decade now.

Yes, I know. I know. The 10 gallon is probably too small for a newbie but I don't really have much of a choice. I have limited space to put the tank and I really want to give saltwater a try.

As for equipment, I plan to go with the following
* Standard 10 gallon tank (Aqueon All Glass)
* Incandescent hood with two 10W coralife 50/50 bulbs http://www.amazon.com/Coralife-Compact-Fluorescent-Colormax-10-Watt/dp/B0002AQ44O
* Aquaclear 30 Power Filter
* Live Sand (Not sure where to get this)
* Live Rock (Not sure how much and where to get this) Maybe 10lbs?
* 50W Marineland Stealth Heater
* Hydrometer - Not sure which brand is good

I'm not entirely sure if I should get a protein skimmer or a power head. For a such a small tank, I'm not sure if it's worth it.

As for livestock, I imagine, I could only a few critters and about 1 -2 small fish. Leaning towards 2 clown fish. Any suggestions?

I'm looking for any advice on how to get to started and maintain such a tank.

Thanks.

Wow, I think you're brave to attempt such a small saltwater tank, everything I have read really suggests going bigger, especially for a beginner...

Would you be able to run a sump at all this would really help out with water stability. Definitely get a controller to control temp. An a.t.o is also a must. Other than that keep an eye on parameters constantly as fluctuation on a tank that small can be a killer.

Can I suggest thinking about going reef simple zoas and mushroom etc.. as if it were me I would tire of just fish in such a small tank.
Also look into some other nano tanks other than the plane Jane aqueon. There are some pretty nanos out there that have almost got me to set up another tank. Some with inclusive filtration.

Good luck in your venture.