Planning a new tank, size recommendations?

LockeOak

Non-member
Hello everyone, since I'll be moving in August it's a great opportunity to start a new tank. I started in this hobby with a 10G nano due to limits on space and funding, and now of course I've caught the bug and want a bigger setup. One of the first things to decide, of course, is what size tank. I plan on a mixed reef. I was thinking something in the 50-65G range, using a standard AGA tank. What's the largest tank that could be considered "reasonably mobile"? By reasonably mobile I mean that it can be broken down and moved across town by 1-2 people (no forklifts!) :) I'm still a student and may have to move periodically. Where do you reach the point where increasing the tank size really begins to quickly increase costs system-wide (lights, rock, pumps, salt, etc.) Any general recommendations would be appreciated.

Hello everyone, since I'll be moving in August it's a great opportunity to start a new tank. I started in this hobby with a 10G nano due to limits on space and funding, and now of course I've caught the bug and want a bigger setup. One of the first things to decide, of course, is what size tank. I plan on a mixed reef. I was thinking something in the 50-65G range, using a standard AGA tank. What's the largest tank that could be considered "reasonably mobile"? By reasonably mobile I mean that it can be broken down and moved across town by 1-2 people (no forklifts!) :) I'm still a student and may have to move periodically. Where do you reach the point where increasing the tank size really begins to quickly increase costs system-wide (lights, rock, pumps, salt, etc.) Any general recommendations would be appreciated.

Just about any upgrade costs $$$$. I am moving from a 55 to a 90 with the 55 being my sump.

I know that increasing tank size increases upkeep costs, I'm just curious if there's a point where you begin to see diminishing returns.